MSW & SWS at Aalto University, Espoo, on 13th-18th May 2018

The Micronano System Workshop (MSW) and Superhydrophobicity and Wetting Symposium (SWS) will be organised as a combined event at Aalto University, Espoo, Finland, from May 13th to 18th, 2018. Additionally, an intensive course on surface tension and wetting will be arranged for newcomers in the field, and for scientists and engineers who want to brush up their knowledge.

Our final program and books of abstracts have been published! Find them behind these links:


MSW session information     SWS session information

MSW poster information     SWS poster information

MSW Book of Abstracts     SWS Book of Abstracts

Thank you for participating!

We thank everyone who participated in the Micronano System Workshop 2018, the Superhydrophobicity and Wetting Symposium and the Surface Tension and Wetting course! Please, stay tuned to hear about the next meetings!

The MSW2018 best poster prize by Micromachines Journal was awarded to Abdul Raouf Atif for his poster Bone cement embedded in a microfluidic device, co-authors S.-S. Carter, M. Pujari-Palmer, M. Tenje and G. Mestres. Congratulations!


Micronano System Workshop

MSW is the Nordic forum for microsystems and nanotechnology. It offers an overview of Nordic academic and industrial research into MEMS, microfluidics and nanosystems. Program consists of invited and contributed talks, poster session and start-up panel discussion.

Superhydrophobicity and Wetting Symposium

The SWS aims to bring researchers together to discuss on latest progress in the fields of superhydrophobicity and wetting.

Surface Tension and Wetting course

David Quéré, ESPCI
Alidad Amirfazli, York University

A free of charge intensive course highlighting the foundations of wetting from practical viewpoint

Important info


Online registration has ended
registration still possible,
payment with credit card only


Invited speakers for MSW

David Horsley, UC Davis
Frieder Mugele, University of Twente
Peter Ertl, TU Wien
Mervi Paulasto-Kröckel, Aalto University
Kari Ullakko, Lappeenranta University of Technology
Hélder Santos, University of Helsinki
Maria Tenje, Uppsala University
Anna Herland, KTH
Niels Bent Larsen, DTU
Pekka Pursula, VTT
Joachim Oberhammer, KTH
Peter Enoksson, Chalmers University of Technology

Invited speakers for SWS

Lei Jiang, Chinese Academy of Sciences
David Quéré, ESPCI
Doris Vollmer, Max Planck Institute
Alidad Amirfazli, York University
Dimos Poulikakos, ETH Zurich
Frieder Mugele, University of Twente

Schedule for the joint event